Tile of Spain, the international brand representing 125ceramic tilemanufacturers belonging to the Spanish Ceramic Tile Manufacturers’ Association (ASCER), recently announced the winners of the 13th Annual Tile of Spain Awards in the categories of Architecture and Interior Design. Both the prestige of the panel of judges, and the standard of the winning projects, have earned these awards a consolidated reputation on the Spanish and international architecture scenes.

The panel of judges was chaired by architect Emilio Tuñón, founder, together with the late Luis Moreno Mansilla, of Mansilla + Tuñón Arquitectos Studio, winner of prestigious awards such as the Mies van der Rohe Award and the Spanish National Architecture Award. The panel of judges also included Italian architect Cino Zucchi; the executive director of the Pritzker Awards, Martha Thorne; architect Anupama Kundoo from India; architect José María Sánchez, who recently received the BSI Swiss Architectural Award for architects under 50 and whose work has contributed to improving the theory and practice of contemporary architecture; Fernando Márquez Cecilia, editor and director of El Croquis architecture journal; and the Castellón-born architect, Ramón Monfort.

The Tile of Spain Awards included two main categories, Architecture and Interior Design — each offering cash prizes of nearly $21,000. Additionally, there were two projects that received Special Mentions in each category. There was also a category for Final Degree Projects, which targeted students of architecture, with cash prizes of just over $6,000. The Awards are sponsored by Vodafone Spain, Endesa and PortValencia.