OBERLIN, OH – The Marble Institute of America (MIA) has announces a natural stone scholarship. This scholarship was originally established in 2004 to provide educational opportunities for aspiring fabricators, installers or administrative apprentices interested in furthering their careers within the natural stone industry. Funds are provided through the generous donations of MIA members worldwide. Applications are reviewed by a committee of the MIA Board of Directors, MIA staff and industry veterans. The entry deadline has been extended to July 17, 2015.

Scholarship Selection Criteria:

  • Applicants must have fewer than five years of experience in the natural stone industry
  • Applicants must submit an application form, an essay detailing their commitment to the natural stone industry and a letter of recommendation from an employer
  • Applicants must work for an MIA member company at least six months prior to entering the competition and be employed by an MIA member company at the time the award is presented at StonExpo/Marmomacc Americas

Scholarship Award

Scholarship will cover travel and registration costs for one or more recipients to StonExpo/Marmomacc Americas, the natural stone industry's premier exhibition and education event, and MIA's annual meeting. Attendance at StonExpo/Marmomacc Americas and the MIA annual meeting offers the scholarship winner the opportunity to gain valuable technical and practical knowledge, meet and network with leading stone professionals, deepen his or her commitment to a career in the stone industry, and explore his or her potential for future leadership.

Past Scholarship Recipients

2014 — Stephen Beck, Connecticut Stone Supplies, Inc., Milford, CT
2013 — Sam Arcot, Rugo Stone, LLC, Lorton, VA 
2012 — Jill Archambeau, RockSolid Stone Works, Cleveland, OH
2011 — Eddie Mendoza, All American Stone & Tile Care, Inc., Victorville, CA
2010 — Joe Durfee, Great Lakes Granite and Marble, Redford Charter Twp, MI
2009 — Michael Schumacher, Valders Stone & Marble, Inc., Valders, WI
2008 — Jeff Lassiter, International Flooring and Protective Coatings, Inc., Norfolk, VA
2007 — Alberto Garcia, Castle Rock Marble and Granite, Inc., Bronx, NY
2006 — Rachel Crickenberger, Cogswell Stone, Palmyra, VA
2005 — Sarah Kelly, Dakota Stone Design, Fargo, ND
2004 — Robert Smith, Great Lakes Granite & Marble, Redford, MI