OBERLIN, OH -- The MIA (Marble Institute of America) membership has elected both Joshua Levinson and Bernard Van Etten III to serve five-year terms on the MIA Board of Directors.

Joshua Levinson
Joshua Levinson

Levinson, of Artistic Tile, will represent the mid-Atlantic zone of Washington, D.C., Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia. He is the President of Artistic Tile, and has been with the firm for 18 years. Levinson is a past Chair of the MIA Education Committee, and continues to serve on the committee, serves on the joint committee on dimension stone that created the new NSC 373 sustainability standard, and is a charter member and co-chair of the MIA N.Y. metro chapter. Artistic Tile has been an MIA member for 10 years. Levinson replaces Jonathan Zanger of Walker Zanger, who served as the 2013 MIA President.

Bernard Van Etten III, of Murphy Marble, will represent the Midwest zone of Iowa, Indiana, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. He is the President of Murphy Marble and has been with the company for over 29 years. Of note, Van Etten is a fourth generation member of his company that has furnished and installed stone in Chicago, IL, for the past 115 years.

He has served on the Board of Directors of the Chicago Marble and Granite Dealers for 16 years. Presently, he serves as a M

Bernard Van Etten III.
Bernard Van Etten III

anagement Trustee of the Health and Welfare and Pension Funds for local marble setters. In addition, he currently sits on the MIA Accreditation Commission. Murphy Marble has been an MIA member for over 31 years. Van Etten fills the seat held by Dan Rea of Coldspring, although Rea will continue service on the board as the 2015 MIA president.

Both Levinson and Van Etten will begin their board terms at StonExpo West/Marmomacc Americas in January 2015 in Las Vegas, NV.