OBERLIN, OH and CHESTERTOWN, NY -- The 11 winning projects of the 2016 Tucker Design Awards were honored during a ceremony at the Contemporary Arts Center in New Orleans, LA, on October 20th. The recipient of the 2016 James Daniel Bybee Prize, Robert A.M. Stern, was also honored during the ceremony.

The 2016 Tucker Design Award winners are:

HBRA Architects

Deering Library West End Renovation

Northwestern University

Evanston, IL


Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

Stone Barn at a Coastal Farm

Rhode Island


Consortium Cardinal Hardy/  

Claude Cormier + Associés

Renewal of Dorchester Square

Montreal, QC


Design Workshop

Woody Creek Garden

Pitkin County, CO


Design Workshop

DBX Ranch



Charles Rose Architects

Admissions Center

Brandeis University

Waltham, MA


CetraRuddy Architecture

Lincoln Square Synagogue

New York, NY


Pei Cobb Freed + Partners

7 Bryant Park

New York, NY


Architects Luc Bouliane

Relmar Houses

Toronto, ON


Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

Halls Ridge Knoll Guest House

Carmel, CA


Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

Independence Pass Residence

Aspen, CO


Jurors for the 2016 Tucker Design Awards were L. Azeo “Ace” Torre (Torre Design Consortium-Architecture and Landscape Architecture), F. Macnaughton “Mac” Ball (Waggonner & Ball Architects) and Jack W. Davis (retired editor/publisher at the Chicago Tribune).

The biennial Tucker Design Awards competition, which began in 1977, honors members of the design community who exhibit innovation and excellence in the use of natural stone in design. The Bybee Prize, named in honor of the late James Daniel Bybee, is awarded to an individual architect or landscape architect for a body of work executed over time and distinguished by outstanding design and use of natural stone.